A Girl And Her (Crochet) Addiction

A lot has happened in the past few weeks, but as I always seem to be busy, you’re probably getting pretty tired of hearing that.  So, I’ll skip over all the boring details and just give a quick run down.  First, my final choir concert of the year went very well; the kids got a lot of compliments, and several parents made a point of approaching me to say how much they enjoyed the concerts and how much their children enjoy choir.  Second, my daughter performed in the school’s talent show with her friend Maya, and they did very well together.  And finally, I am – at last – on summer break.  Hallelujah!  Just in case you missed it, I’ll say that again.  HALLELUJAH!!  This means that I have more time for other things, like crafting!  (Also for cleaning, which I don’t like as much.  I actually cleaned the bathroom today.  I know.  I’m in shock too.)

Ahem.  That is all.  I’ll get to the crafty bits now, since that’s doubtless what you’re waiting for.

5 23 13 003First, I finished this a couple of weeks ago and have been wearing it out and about and all over the place, and have gotten so many compliments on it and even an order for one in black ‘whenever I get time to get around to making it.’  O_O  This is the Quinty lace shrug, and I got the pattern from Berniolies Designs on Etsy.  Of course, the exact pattern is no longer available in her shop, but there is likely another very similar to it.  Unless you can sell the same thing multiple times on Etsy… I don’t know anything about that site, so you might very well find the Quinty lace shrug after all.  Who knows?

Unfortunately, that’s all I’ve managed to finish, as I’ve been ridiculously busy the last couple weeks.  However, I do have two WIPs currently going.  The first is a little hoodie jacket for myself.  It’s going to be hideous – I can already tell – but the yarn is soft and comfy, and I just want something to wear around the house or even at work, because my husband and my coworkers alike seem to enjoy setting the air conditioner to sub-zero temperatures.

6 4 13 002See what I mean about it being hideous?  The self-striping would be really pretty in a blanket or something, but in a jacket it just looks messy.  Still, I don’t mind; I’m not going for fashion with this one, I’m going for comfort and, above all, warmth!  Also, that little bit off to the right there is part of an unfinished sleeve.  I still have to finish it, make the second sleeve, attach them, make the hood and attach it, crochet a cuff all the way around the body and the hood, and add a zipper.  I’m thinking this is going to take me a while.  I’m also thinking that I’m going to need more of this hideous (but wonderfully soft and comfy) self-striping rainbow yarn.

And finally, remember that half-circle shawl I was making my mom for Mother’s Day that looked like this?

5 5 13 003

Well, I’ve managed to mess it up, and I decided that the colors weren’t right.  Plus, the yarn is really bulky and not exactly something I can see comfortably wearing.  Ever.  So, this has been scrapped (seriously, it’s in a pile waiting to be ripped out and reused for something less icky), and it now looks like……

 

 

 

 

6 4 13 001  ….this!  See?  Much prettier, and more light weight, too!  Obviously, I didn’t get it done for Mother’s Day, but she knows that she has something in the works from me, and she also knows how busy I’ve been and how picky I am about gifts being as near to perfect as I can get them.  So…. I’ve got a little bit of leeway on this one, thank goodness.

One final thing before I leave you… I am now on DeviantArt, if any of you would like to pop on over and follow me or favorite any of my work.  Thank  you!  Also, I’m not sure why, but WordPress seems insistent on jumbling up my post.  First the pictures are cascading one right after the after in an almost domino effect, then there’s so much space between them that a jumbo jet could land there!  Maybe it’s just me and it’s only acting up because I’m tired.    *shrug*

So, that’s it from me, fellow crocheters/knitters/crafters/bloggers!  I hope your days and weeks are and have been wonderful!  Until next time…. Bye!

2 comments on “A Girl And Her (Crochet) Addiction

  1. HALLELUJAH!! … hope you’re enjoying your summer break 🙂 And would you like another award with that? I’ve nominated you for the WordPress Family Award. Here is the link for more info: http://knittingwithheart.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/the-wordpress-family-award-❤/

  2. Hello hello 🙂 Here is your second nomination for the WordPressFamily Award! Thank you for being a lovely blog neighbour. Here’s my link for this award: http://knitxpressions.com/2013/06/13/an-award-for-being-part-of-the-wordpress-family/

Leave a Reply

