Playing Catch Up

Whoo!  The last few  weeks have been ridiculously busy.  I’ve barely even had time to breathe (or pee by myself), let alone post about crochet projects.  First up, let’s catch you all up on what’s been going on in the life of Gray, shall we?  (Because you’re all so interested in the inner workings of my life, I’m sure.  *insert sarcastic eye roll here*  Just bear with me… I promise I’ll get to the crochet stuff.  Eventually.)

Three weeks ago, I accompanied my daughter and her 6th grade class on their Catalina, California field trip.  It was 8 hours of bus ride, 3 hours of ferry ride, and two and a half days of corralling 6th graders and reminding them to behave like humans instead of animals.  There were sick kids to contend with, scheduling conflicts with instructors, asthma attacks, snorkeling adventures, octopuses (octopi?  Isn’t that the plural for octopus?  Stupid spell check says it wrong.  OCTOPI.  Take that, spell check.  TAKE.THAT.), and so much more.  I didn’t get as many pictures as I would have liked due to only having my iPhone with me, and the battery constantly dying because it was searching for a non-existent signal at CIMI (Catalina Island Marine Institute).  I did manage to get a few pictures, so here are those.

IMG_0753

This is my daughter and I together, just after the 8 hour long bus ride, during the two hour long wait for the ferry, and before the three hour long ferry ride to the island.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0752And this is me and my friend Mallory, who is a 2nd grade teacher at the same school I work at.  She and her husband were two of the eight chaperons we had on the trip.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0763Here is Alyssa with Mallory and Mrs. Lok, who is Alyssa’s 6th grade teacher.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0758 IMG_0759

And these are just some of the random pictures I took.  One is a picture of our dorm – it used to be a military training facility.  And another is the bison that kept coming down into camp, despite how many times workers and instructors kept shoo’ing it away.  He’d lay down in the sandbox and look at us with these huge eyes like, “What?  I belong here, too.”  We couldn’t approach him or anything, but it added another level of ‘cool’ to the trip for the kids.

IMG_0760 IMG_0761

And this…. this is the coolest octopus I have ever seen.  (Not that I’ve seen many.)  She’s a Red Octopus, and is – according to our instructor – one of the most poisonous and deadly species of octopi.  She would hang out around the top of her tank and – I kid you not – I could have stood there for hours just watching her.  But every time I moved, she would swim right up in front of me, like she was staring at me, and go from this pale yellow color to a deep red – almost purple – and pop out these spikes all over her body.  Then I’d just stand still for a minute and she’d go back to her natural pale yellow and start swimming around her tank again, but the second I moved, she’d be right back in front of me and that dark red again.  COOLEST.THING.EVER.

 

 

Me and Yoder

After I got back from the Catalina trip, I’ve had music gigs up and down and all over the place.  Monday night, I had a three and a half hour band practice after working all day – I didn’t get home until after 9:30pm.  I was EXHAUSTED.  Then Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, I played the piano for the local high school’s Ice Cream Social (hence the three and a half hour band practice on Monday.  It was the only night we could all get together before the Social).  To make matters worse the choir teacher at the high school is retiring at the end of this school year, so Friday was his last concert.  I BAWLED.  It was horrible.  Anyway, the theme of the social was Country and Western, so here is a picture of myself and Mr. Yoder (the high school choir teacher) on Friday night.  He looks quite authentic.  I, however, don’t.  It was the best I could do on short notice and with no budget.  I’m not exactly a Country and Western sort of girl.

9th AnniversaryWednesday night (yes, the same night as the Ice Cream Social), Dean and I celebrated our 9th Anniversary.  Well, okay, we didn’t do much actual celebrating on Wednesday, but it was our Anniversary.  We went out to a very nice dinner together on Saturday, instead, at the same restaurant where he proposed to me.  It’s our tradition to go to this place, with the same server (who we absolutely adore), for our anniversary every year.  What can I say, we’re creatures of habit.  It’s a black tie sort of place, so this is Dean and I all dressed up and ready to hit the town.

And that’s about it.  You are now all caught up on the Life of Gray!  Don’t you feel ever so much better?  ^_^  Now, ON TO THE CRAFTING!

First, I’m still working on that Diamonds shawl.  It’s taking ages, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel.  I’ve only got 11 more rows, and then I am FINISHED with this thing.  WOO!  I’ll post pictures once it’s done.

5 5 13 002 5 5 13 001

Second, I finished a coin purse for my coworker.  She loaned us her carpet cleaner machine thingie, so I’ve made her this coin purse as a thank you.  Unfortunately, the zipper I bought was a little too small for the opening, but at least it’s sturdy, and the bag is fully lined.  I hope she likes it; it’s the first time I’ve ever installed a zipper on one of my crochet pieces.

5 5 13 003

And third, I started working on a new circle shawl for Mother’s Day for my mom.  I can only hope that I’ll manage to finish it, what with all the other projects I’ve got lined up to work on , too.

Well, that’s it from me, fellow BlogLanders!  I’m off to bed to prepare for another exciting day at work.  Yipee.  Plus side?  Only three more full weeks until Summer Break.  YES!

4 comments on “Playing Catch Up

  1. Wow, that DOES sound like the coolest octopus ever! … just another day in the Life of Gray ❤

    • Gray says:

      Coolest thing EVER. I would seriously go on the CIMI trip every year, just for the opportunity to see that octopus again. ^_^ Life of Gray is fairly boring most days, so this particular post is quite a change from the norm. LOL

  2. empress27 says:

    That looks like an exhausting, yet fun trip! I’ve only been on a couple of school trips with my classes, and they were tiring, but only for the day! Been reading some of your other blogs, love your craft work, especially the green flower bracelet. It was so pretty 🙂 Btw, cute octopus pics 😛

    • Gray says:

      Why thank you! And thanks for stopping by and leaving such a lovely comment. ^_^ My daughter loves that hand-flower; she wears it all the time. I’m still working on the pattern for it, but with all of the other WIP pieces I’ve got going right now, I haven’t had time to work on it. Seriously, all I have written on the page is the title. Pathetic, yes? LOL

Leave a Reply

