Weekend Funsies and a WIP

3 31 13 001

 

First, I would like to show off my newest WIP – the Diamonds Shawl from Kristin Omdahl’s book, “Crochet So Fine.”  This shawl is taking FOREVER to do, but in the end, I think it’s going to be worth it.  Lightweight and airy, which is perfect for desert weather, and a lovely pattern that can be dressed up or down, depending upon the situation.  I’m looking forward to finishing it.  Below is a closer picture of the shawl pattern.

3 31 13 002

 

 

Yesterday, Dean and I took the kidlets to the Renaissance Festival for a day of just being out and about with the family.  He and I are great big nerds, and we both have full costumes; but we’ve never bought outfits for the kids because they’d wear them once and then outgrow them before the Festival ever came back to town.  SO, we rented outfits for them instead.  And, of course, I took pictures.  Here are Brendan and Alyssa first in their costumes – he as a noble boy and she as a peasant maiden, then Alyssa and I – I’m a belly dancer, and finally Dean and Brendan – Dean is a nobleman.

Brendan And Alyssa  Alyssa and Robin  Dean and Brendan

 

We had a lot of fun at the Festival, though we did miss the Falconry show.  However, we got to see the lads of Tartanic, and finally managed to buy a CD.  It’s already been copied to the computers and downloaded to all the various and sundry iPods/iPhones to be listened to at our leisure.  Also, we all got souvenirs of our time at the Festival, though I only got a couple of pictures.  Dean’s got a running collection of mugs from every year at the Ren Faire starting with 2005, so he picked up a 2013 mug as well as a silver flask and holder to add to his costume’s belt.  Both of the kids picked up a necklace of their choosing, plus Brendan picked out a plain wooden sword that he’s now started to paint, and Alyssa chose a lovely blue and green leather mask.  I actually picked up a whole new costume – more gypsy and less belly dancer this time – but I couldn’t get a decent photo of me in it.  So, you get a picture of my new hair spiral, instead.  I fell in love with the hair wraps years ago and have always made it my goal to get a hair wrap every year that we go to the Renaissance Festival.  The only thing I don’t like about them is that they only last for about 3 months, and when you want/need to take it out, you have to cut your hair because the thread is glued in.  With the hair spiral, I basically get the same effect, but the spiral can be removed and put back in at will, with no damage (or CUTTING) done to my hair.

Alyssa's Mask  Hair Spiral

 

Now the kids and husband are all in bed, and I’m headed that way myself in order to prepare for work in the morning (blech!).  And thus our weekend funsies come to a close.  How was your weekend, fellow bloggers?

6 comments on “Weekend Funsies and a WIP

  1. Hi, I have really enjoyed your blog, and have nominated you for a Liebster Award. Take the time to accept the nomination and pass the recognition to some other deserving bloggers.

    http://crochetwithpassion.wordpress.com/award/

  2. Your shawl is beautiful!

  3. kate0795 says:

    Hi Gray, that shawl is so pretty and very delicate, I can see why it would take such a long time to make! I’ve never attempted anything like this….yet! Kx

Leave a Reply

