Cardigan Hijinks

I finally finished that cardigan I’ve been working on for the past few weeks, and was super excited to try it on.  Imagine my rather immense disappointment, then, when I realized that it was far too small for me.  Admittedly, this is (probably) my own fault, as I used a linen based crochet thread instead of the yarn that the pattern called for.  In my defense, I live in the desert and didn’t want anything bulky and hot, but rather something light and airy that could be worn over a tank top and still keep me relatively cool.  Live and learn, I suppose; I’ll just have to increase the pattern size next time.  And there WILL be a next time.  I am determined to make myself a cardigan, come hell or high water!

 

Well, luckily for me, I have a daughter who happens to fit this particular ‘oops’ perfectly.  Yes, she fits it, rather than it fitting her.  That’s just the way we roll around here.

 

3 27 13 001 3 27 13 002

 

Despite my size screw-up, I still think it came out okay.  Especially given that this is my first attempt ever at an actual garment like this.  Thoughts?  Suggestions?

4 comments on “Cardigan Hijinks

  1. Really love this cardigan, very stylish.

  2. Bob Crochets says:

    One of the things I love about crafting, especially crochet, is that despite our mistakes, our work always turns out beautifully and nobody can see the flaws like we can. so why you may not be 100 percent happy with all this project turned out, it’s incredibly beautiful. I love yarn. I love the way it fits. Everything about it is beautiful.

    • Gray says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comment! I suppose, had I not said anything about my sizing oopsie, nobody but me would have known about it. I just always think it’s so obvious when I look at something that I’ve done, and I think that my mistakes are as blatant to everyone else as they are to me. ^_^

Leave a Reply

